Loading Events

« All Events

Understanding the Nexus of Sexual Violence and the Science of Addiction Webinar: IAFN

June 17 @ 2:00 pm - 3:30 pm

10:00 am AKDT | 11:00 am PDT |12:00 pm MDT | 1:00 pm CDT | 2:00 pm EDT. Understanding the Nexus of Sexual Violence and the Science of Addiction. Presented by: The International Association of Forensic Nurses, National Indian Country Clearinghouse on Sexual Assault of American Indian and Alaska Native Women. Third Thursday Session 4. Many people do not understand why or how other people become addicted to drugs. They may mistakenly think that those who use drugs lack moral principles or willpower and that they could stop their drug use simply by choosing to do so. Drug addiction is a complex disease, and quitting usually takes more than good intentions or a strong will. Drugs change the brain in ways that make quitting hard, even for those who want to quit. Fortunately, researchers know more than ever about how drugs affect the brain. Learning objective: Participants will learn the science of addiction. They will leave with the ability to explain why substance use disorders are a disease of the brain as well as a disability. Hosted by: Christina Love, Alaska Network on Domestic Violence and Sexual Assault Specialist.

 
 

Working to End Violence Against Native American Women

Your Gift is Greatly Appreciated!