Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Indigenous Solutions: The Importance of Culturally Centered Advocacy Webinar: IAFN

March 30 @ 2:00 pm - 3:30 pm

10:00 am AKDT | 11:00 am PDT |12:00 pm MDT | 1:00 pm CDT | 2:00 pm EDT. Indigenous Solutions: The Importance of Culturally Centered Advocacy. International Association of Forensic Nurses. According to the National Institute of Justice (2016), more than 4 in 5 American Indian and Alaska Native women (84.3 percent) have experienced violence in their lifetime. This is a shockingly high number. Native American Survivors of sexual violence also are carrying a significantly high level of both historical trauma and multi-generational trauma. This webinar will engage participants in developing an understanding of the importance of having Indigenous options for Native Survivors of sexual violence. We will explore together the prevalence of sexual violence experienced by American Indian and Alaska Native Survivors and why Indigenous solutions are critical as a crisis and long-term response for Native Survivors of sexual violence. We will also explore the importance of culturally centered/Indigenous centered response for laying the foundation for healing and recovery.

 
 

Working to End Violence Against Native American Women

Your Gift is Greatly Appreciated!