Loading Events

« All Events

Webinar: America’s History and Legacy of Violence, National Indian Country Clearinghouse on Sexual Assault

March 18 @ 10:00 am - 11:30 am

10:00 am AKDT | 11:00 am PDT |12:00 pm MDT | 1:00 pm CDT | 2:00 pm EDT. America’s History and Legacy of Violence. National Indian Country Clearinghouse on Sexual Assault of American Indian and Alaska Native Women. Why are women abused more than men? Why are Native American, and our LGBTQ2S relatives physically and sexually assaulted at much higher rates than any other demographic? This virtual training draws attention to the pervasive issue of violence against Native women, who suffer disproportionately high levels of sexual and domestic violence. The roots of violence in our nation have led to a culture of abuse and the crisis we see today. This training will examine the history of genocide, colonization, assimilation, and the anti-violence movement. Viewers will learn how gender-based and race-based oppression and violence intersect leading to higher rates of victimization and lethality. We hope people will walk away with a holistic view of indigenous culture and the impact these issues have on every aspect of their life and community for generations.

 
 

Working to End Violence Against Native American Women

Your Gift is Greatly Appreciated!