Loading Events

« All Events

Using Experts for Investigation and Prosecution of Sexual Violence Cases: IAFN

December 10 @ 2:00 pm - 3:30 pm

10:00 am AKST | 11:00 am PST |12:00 pm MST | 1:00 pm CST | 2:00 pm EST.Using Experts for Investigation and Prosecution of Sexual Violence Cases. International Association of Forensic Nurses. Sexual violence cases often present evidentiary questions and issues that are not in easily understood without the assistance of someone with specialized knowledge, training, and/or experience. This can involve challenges to understanding the presence or absence of medical evidence, the impact of toxicology on the human body, as well as the effects of trauma and the range of individual responses to sexual violence. Experienced professionals can provide judges and juries with the necessary context to ensure that they are making informed decisions based on the evidence and prevent misconceptions from negatively impacting the outcome of a case. The presenter will summarize the law related to the introduction of expert testimony and highlight the importance of deciding if and when to introduce expert testimony in a case. The presenters will also discuss strategies for the identification and qualification of experts, as well as the importance of working with experts to prepare a case for trial even if their testimony will not be introduced. Offered by IAFN’s FAST Technical Assistance Project.

 
 

Working to End Violence Against Native American Women

Your Gift is Greatly Appreciated!