Loading Events

« All Events

Unique Legal Issues for Urban Victims Webinar: Red Wind Consulting, Inc.

April 22 @ 1:00 pm - 2:30 pm

11: 00 am AKDT | 12:00 pm PDT |1:00 pm MDT | 2:00 pm CDT | 3:00 pm EDT.  Unique Legal Issues for Urban Victims. Red Wind Consulting. Native Americans are a nearly invisible population in urban areas across the United States and they possess a unique legal status that many non-Natives have little to no understanding about. Sadly, this makes working with this population potentially quite harmful. This session will provide an overview of tribal jurisdiction and relevant laws that impact tribal life both on and off tribal lands. We will identity common legal issues that can impact the way a person would provide services and how to begin identifying when to seek additional expertise so that no harm is done to a victim by a service provider. Resources will be discussed that can be accessed to assist programs when working with unique legal issues.

 
 

Working to End Violence Against Native American Women

Your Gift is Greatly Appreciated!