Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Systems Advocacy Responses for Housing Q & A Session: Red Wind Consulting

April 9 @ 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm

10:00 am AKDT | 11:00 am PDT |12:00 pm MDT | 1:00 pm CDT | 2:00 pm EDT. Systems Advocacy Responses for Housing Q & A Session. Red Wind Consulting. This is a follow up Q&A session for April 8th’s webinar on Systems Advocacy Responses for Housing: Advocates struggle with a lack of available and affordable housing in tribal communities, while survivors face barriers getting their housing applications approved. Federal funds have just been released to tribes and tribal housing authorities to respond to the Covid-19 pandemic. These funds can be used for system-level changes, including tribal housing development and improvements. Covid-19 and “stay at home” orders have created additional dangers for victims and increased the need for safe housing to flee from violence. This webinar brainstormed ideas, and gave specific examples from other tribal communities. Also covered were approaches for educating and advocating for short and long-term system responses to meet the needs of survivors, as well as new resources, tools, and ongoing technical assistance available to make these system level changes realistically manageable.

 
 

Working to End Violence Against Native American Women

Your Gift is Greatly Appreciated!