Loading Events

« All Events

Webinar: Strong Hearts Responding, Honoring and Collaborating with American Indian Communities, International Association of Forensic Nurses.

March 5 @ 2:00 pm - 3:30 pm

10:00 am AKST | 11:00 am PST |12:00 pm MST | 1:00 pm CST | 2:00 pm EST. Strong Hearts: Responding, Honoring and Collaborating with American Indian Communities. International Association of Forensic Nurses. Recognize how American Indian historical experiences persist to contribute to intergenerational trauma and the continuous effects on community today.  Including: health ramifications to historical trauma and racism; why relationships fail when working with ‘outside’ victim service providers who don’t see the need for culturally specific victim advocacy; how historical mistreatment prevent many community members to not seek services and the impact of the healing process for survivors and the entire community. In this webinar we will discuss ways that Non-Native communities and Non-Tribal victim service providers can develop positive cultural collaborative relationships that are grounded in compassion, knowledge and confidentiality. Included in this discussion will be the experience of Bethany Bernal, SANE-A FNE Coordinator for Mercy Medical Center that increased their service dramatically to local American Indian communities.

 
 

Working to End Violence Against Native American Women

Your Gift is Greatly Appreciated!